Halloween

Adam and I went to a Halloween party this year. I know that this post is really late!

It was the first time we had been out without the girls since Savannah was born. I don’t think I had been to a Halloween party since I was 10 or so, so I was really excited about dressing up!

We, like everyone else, are really into zombies right now. So I decided that I would be a zombie bride. I turned to Pinterest (where else?) for my zombie makeup inspiration.

I had a dress already…it was actually my dress from my first wedding, and it was pretty therapeutic to trash it!

Zombie Bride

I waited until the last minute to go out and buy my zombie blood, and the only thing I could find was this black blood. Which is black. Duh, don’t know what I was thinking. The bottle says it looks realistic, yeah not so much. Luckily I had a bottle of red gel food coloring. Added a little water and the red food coloring and voila, BLOOD! I also waited until the last minute to fix my costume, like 2 hours before the party so I didn’t get any pictures. I’ve learned that to be a blogger you really need to plan ahead and take LOTS of pictures. 😉

I splattered blood all over the dress, then my mom, sister-in-law and her mother (who was visiting from NY) proceeded to rip, burn and generally destroy this dress.  

In the mean time I went in and did my makeup. The only thing I wish I had done was to get a setting powder, because as soon as I started sweating my makeup started running. By the end of the night I looked like a hot mess, but I guess that’s what a zombie is supposed to look like right?

I promise I don’t look like this on a regular basis!

I tried to get Adam to go as my Zombie groom but couldn’t get him on board. He decided to go as Santa….Yeah you heard me right. More specifically, Billy Bob Thornton from the movie Bad Santa. 

He’s not really puking in the trash can.

 We had a great time, and I had a ton of fun planning my costume. I couldn’t wait to get home to the babies though! I told Adam that you know you’ve had a good time when you come home looking like this:

Gratuitous picture in the bathroom mirror portrait.

  

Thanks for putting up with my Halloween post in December. I’ll glaze over Thanksgiving and we’ll get to Christmas this weekend. 

Jess

Talk to me!

