Cookies!

My sweet Scarlett turned two at the beginning of October. Her personality is really shining now. I can’t believe that just a few months ago we were worried about her speech, now we can’t get her to stop. Not that I would want her to! Kids are such little sponges, something I’ve heard all my life but didn’t put any merit behind until I had a toddler.

We’ve had a nice relaxing couple of days at home. Yesterday I decided that Scarlett and I would make cookies together for the first time.

Cookie baking with a toddler could either go really well, or end in disaster. Luckily our first cookie baking excursion went stellar!

She was fascinated by the mixer.
I measured everything out and let her add the ingedients to the mixer. Then we counted out how many cookies we put on each cookie sheet. 
The only bad part was that she didn’t understand that we had to let them bake before we could eat them. Toddlers are all about instant gratification!
Yummy cookies and milk!

I love how you can follow a recipe over and over and it always turns out different. I made these oatmeal cookies last week and they really spread when I baked them. Still haven’t figured out what we did different this time.
Mouth full of cookie

Over all we both had a great time. I was surprised that I kept her attention, happy that there were no injuries, and can’t wait to do it again!!
Until next time,
J

6 thoughts on “Cookies!

  1. I love to bake with my little ones, but I have to be in a specific mood. I need to not care if they are going to make the kitchen an entire disaster and try not to "help" them too much (they get so frustrated when I don't just let them do things). I think your cookies look delicious!

  2. It looks like you girls had a great time! Those cookies look outstanding. I wish I could pull one off my screen 🙂 My husband just ordered me a KitchenAid mixer and I can't wait to use it to bake with my daughter someday. It will be a while (she's due in March) but I'm really looking forward to sharing those memories.

Talk to me!

